IFSDA Homepage

New Name and Logo for Boston2026

It’s a popular saying: ‘Foresight is the essence of government‘. And a true one, no doubt. The organisers of the twelfth United States international philatelic exhibition, which will take place in 2026, certainly are looking ahead. They have decided to rename the exhibition. Initially, the event was called ‘Boston 2026 World Stamp Show’. But now the exhibition has a new and shorter name: ‘Boston 2026 World Expo’. And to make things complete, also a new logo has been designed for the event.
In a press release, the show committee explains the decision to change things: ’The new name is shorter, and opens the door to explore more than just ‘stamps’, as our hobby includes a wealth of other items.’
The new logo has been created by the American stamp designer Richard Sheaff. It shows the so-called Betsy Ross flag, an early design of the famous stars and stripes. The Betsy Ross flag shows thirteen stars.

Source: AIJP News

A catalogue causing a holiday feeling: MICHEL South-East Europe 2017/18 (EC 4)

(wm) It could well be that the 102nd edition of MICHEL’s South-East Europe Catalogue 2017/218 (‘EK 4’) will trigger a real holiday feeling for many a stamp collector. Because in part 4 of MICHEL’s Europe Catalogue, you will find many countries and territories that are popular with holiday-goers. Just have a look at what’s featured in this volume: the Aegean Islands, Bulgaria, Epirus, Greece, Ikaria, the Ionian Islands, Crete, Eastern Rumelia, Romania, Samos, Thrace, Turkey, Turkish Cyprus and Cyprus. All in all 1280 pages in full colour, hardbound and offering 18200 illustrations along with 71.000 price quotations.
The editors of the catalogue have now recorded a number of perforation variations of Bulgaria. The same goes for a number of partly perforated postage stamps of a number Greece. The United Europe stamps of the latter country have now been divided in copies that originate from stamp sheets and copies that come from stamp booklets.
Many price movements are to be found, especially in Turkey and Greece. The catalog costs 69.80 euros. The ISB-number is 978-3-95402-229-8.


Source: AIJP News

Liechtenstein wins NexoFil Award in category most innovative stamp

(lp) Every year, in Spain the so-called NexoFil Award is awarded. It concerns a competition organized by the leading Spanish philatelic magazine "EL ECO". The magazine invites official philatelic organizations in nations from all over the world to nominate their favorite stamps. When all nominations have come in, an international jury with 40 experts from Europe and America judge the submitted stamps. There are ten different categories.
The Liechtenstein stamp "International Year of Light" (2015) has been voted as the winner in one of the most challenging categories: "Most Innovative Stamp of the Year". The stamp was designed by Leone Ming and contains three light phenomena: a fluorescent background that illuminates in the dark, a micro perforation for the diffraction of light waves, and a special color, which changes from pink to violet when exposed to ultraviolet light.
It is not the first time the stamp received an award; last year it also won the Red Dot Award.


Source: AIJP News

Wolfgang Maassen: Who is Who in philately? Volume 2 (E-H)

(pc/wm) In 1999, the first edition of a useful reference book, titled ‘Wer ist wer in der Philatelie’ (‘Who’s Who In Philately’) was published. It offered 240 pages and dealt with all letters of the alphabet (A-Z). The book contained the names of important philatelists, followed by short biographies; it concerned philatelists since the 19th century. Already at that time the ‘Who’s Who’ was remarkable and unique publication. A second edition, purely digital, appeared in 205 and supplement the first edition considerably. But only the third edition, whose first volume (2011, 328 pages, letters A, B, C and D) fulfilled the wishes for that remained for the users of the earlier editions, being philatelists, journalists, collectors and philatelic associations.
And now volume 2 of this third edition is available, counting 372 pages that ‘only’ offers another four letters of the alphabet: 44 pages for the letter "E", 87 for the letter "F", 91 for the letter "G" and no less than 122 pages for the letter "H". As was the case in 2011, more and more well-known dealers, experts philatelists from the former German Democratic Republic were taken into account. The principle that only those who had left their mark in German philately was retained. This meant that their biographies in some cases were expanded enormously. The result is that also this second volume of the third edition compiles an enormous amount of unique information about and illustrations of persons that not only shaped German philately, but also international philately.
The pictures on this hardbound volume already give away something about the contents of the bookk: we recognize Philipp von Ferrari, "Bud" Hennig, Ludwig Hesshaimer and Gerd H. Hövelmann. The back of the book shows Georges Fouré, thanks to the only photograph that seems to exist of him. The aforementioned names shows the enormous diversity in word and image that can be found in this work.
Volume 3 of the third edition will be released in a year’s time. The author already offered the contents of this volume (although still incomplete and without any illustrations) in his digital magazine PHILA HISTORICA, which can be downloaded free of charge at The printed volume will have the same scope as the information that was published PHILA HISTORICA; it covers the letters I, J, K, L and M. There will also be a number of extensive lists of abbreviations, bibliographies and surnames.
“Wer is wer in der Philatelie” by Wolfgang Maassen (third edition, third volume). Format DIN A5, 372 pages, ill., hard cover. Selling price 24,80 euro plus postage. ISBN: 978-3-932198-96-0. For more information please contact Phil*Creativ Verlag, Vogelsrather Weg 27, 41366 Schwalmtal, Germany, telephone ++[0]2163/4866, Fax 30003, e-Mail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or

Royal Philatelic Society elects first "overseas" President

(RJ West) At the Annual General Meeting held on 22 June, The Royal Philatelic Society elected Patrick Maselis as President. Patrick is the Society’s first ‘overseas’ President, his election recognising the fact of the membership of over 2,250 of the Society, more than half reside outside the United Kingdom.
Patrick, born and living in Belgium, is a fourth generation philatelist, his collecting interests including the Medallion issue of Belgium, Belgium Congo and Ruanda-Urundi, and the postal history of Lake Enclave, New Zealand and New York. He is the Chief Executive Officer of the Maselis Group, active worldwide in cereals and breakfast cereals.
Richard Stock, elected two years ago as a Vice-President, is joined by Peter Cockburn also elected at this year’s AGM. Other Officers are Peter Cockburn as Honorary Secretary, Nigel Gooch as Honorary Treasurer, and Ben Palmer as Honorary Librarian.
The members of Council are David Alford, Mark Bailey, Dieter Michelson, James Podger, Mike J. Y. Roberts, Birthe King, John Davies, Bill Hedley, Christopher Hitchen and Colin Hoffman.

Source: AIJP News